skip to primary navigationskip to content


A list the Awards, Achievements and Honours gained by members of the department.

Congratulations goes to all those that have achieved this level of excellence.

Freya Jephcott and Emma Glennon start up runner up in Post doc Business plan competition  Nov 2019

Chioma Achi winner of the University of Cambridge Public Engagement Starter Greant 2019

Dr Laurence Tiley winner of the Queens' College Teacher of the Year 2019

Adrian Baez-Ortega winner of the International Canine Health Award 2019 - postgraduate student award

Yasmin Paterson winner of the Veterinary Research Club Walter & Dorothy Plowright Young Researcher 2019

Prof Herrtage winner of The Bourgelat Award 2019

Dr Jane Ladlow winner of The Simon Award 2019

Catherine Wager awarded a prestigious University Pilkington Prize for teaching excellence, 2018

Dr Nai-Chieh Lui winner of the Vice Chancellor's Impact Award 2017

Jackie Brearley, awarded a prestigious University 'Pilkington Prize' for teaching excellence, 2017

Andrea Strakova, winner of the Postgraduate Student Inspiration Award as part of the Kennel Club International Canine Health Awards, 2017

Dr Penny Watson, Woodrow Award for outstanding contributions in the field of small animal veterinary medicine at the BSAVA Congress 2017

Dr Jackie Brearley and Katheryn Ayres, Cambridge University Student’s Union (CUSU) Student-Led Teaching Awards 2016

Dr Lucy Weinert, Royal Society and Wellcome Trust Henry Dale Fellowship, 2016

Dr Lucy Weinert, Royal Society and Wellcome Trust Henry Dale Fellowship, 2016

Dr Elizabeth Murchison, Genetics Society of America Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award: Honourable mention, 2016

Professor Clare Bryant, Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator Award, 2015

Professor Clare Bryant, Theresa Gioannini Women in Science Award Toll, 2015

Scientist Focus - Prof Clare Bryant

Dr Ragnhildur Thora Karadottir Lister Institute Research Prize, 2015

Dr Ragnhildur Thora Karadottir, Paul G Allen Distinguished Investigator Award, 2015

Dr Lucy Weinert, Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship, 2015

Dr Joy Archer was awarded the European Society of Veterinary Clinical Pathology Hall of Fame Award, 2015

Kathryn Ayres, Cambridge University Student Union Teaching Excellence Award, 2014 & 2015

Dr Cinzia Cantacessi, Odile Bain Memorial Prize, 2014

Dr Elizabeth Murchison, recipient of Wellcome Trust Investigator Award, 2014

Dr Elizabeth Murchison Leverhulme Prize Winner, 2014

Dr Elizabeth Murchison CRUK Future Leaders in Cancer Research Prize, 2014

Dr Elizabeth Murchison BACR AstraZeneca Frank Rose Prize, 2014

Dr Elizabeth Murchison, Genetics Society Balfour Prize Lecture, 2014

Dr Bethany Dearlove ISSF Public Engagement award, 2014

Dr Ragnhildur Thóra Káradóttir FENS-Kavli Network of Excellence, 2014

Dr Joy Archer, Honary Fellow of the RCVS, 2013

Dr Kate Hughes, Royal College of Pathologists Gold Research Medal, 2012

Dr Elizabeth Murchinson, Eppendorf Award for Young European Investigators, 2012

Dr Elizabeth Murchinson, Science Heirlooms, 2012

Dr Lucy Davison, Wellcome Trust Veterinary Postdoctoral Fellowship, 2011

Dr Elizabeth Murchison, L'Oreal-UNESCO for Women in Science Fellowship, 2009


All images are copyright of the University of Cambridge or individual contributors, all rights reserved, no reproduction without permission.

Find us on social media

Instagram Twitter Facebook

Access to our site has changed

There is now no direct access from JJ Thompson Avenue. Access is now from Charles Babbage Road.


Congratulations to both Katriina Willgert MRCVS  and Rhiannon Wood MRCVS , both PhD candidates who have recently been accepted as Residents of the European College of Veterinary Public Health.


Cambridge Vet School Tweets